Leicester International Music Festival

‘Finding your Soul’

‘Your twenties is all about finding your soul’, Oprah Winfrey

Music by Mozart, Schubert and the outstanding young British composer, Mark Simpson.

 September 19th - 21st 2019


Jack Liebeck, Alexander Sitkovetsky - violin

Clare Finnemore, Richard O’Neill - viola

Leonard Elschenbroich, Michael Petrov - cello

Katya Apekisheva, Richard Uttley - piano

Nicholas Daniel - oboe

Mark Simpson - clarinet

Llio Evans - soprano

and introducing

Daniel Shao - flute & Joseph Havlat - piano

Tickets are now available online or in person at the New Walk Museum. As usual, there are discounts for multiple concerts and for Friends of the Leicester International Music Festival.


Thursday 1pm

Schubert: Piano Trio in 1 movement in B flat major D28 8’

Simpson: Echoes and Embers, for clarinet and piano 12’ 

Mozart: Piano Quartet in E flat major K493 30’

Thursday 7:30pm

Schubert: Adagio in E flat major Op.148, D897 Notturno 11’ 

Simpson: Hommage à Kurtág for clarinet, viola and piano 8’

Mozart: String Quintet No. 2 in C Minor for oboe and strings K406 25’


 Schubert: Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat D929 36’ 

Friday 1pm

Talent Spotting

A special platform for young artists chosen and presented by Nicholas Daniel 

Daniel Shao (flute) and Joseph Havlat (piano)

By arrangement with the Countess of Munster Musical Trust 

Mozart: Sonata in C major KV14 10’

Simpson: New work for solo flute (world première) 6’

Schubert: Variations on Trockne Blumen D802 21’

Friday 7:30pm


Die Forelle: Alexander Sitkovetsky & Richard Uttley
Ständchen: Michael Petrov & Richard Uttley
Nacht und Träume: Nicholas Daniel & Richard Uttley
Sei mir Gegrüsst: Jack Liebeck & Richard Uttley
Wirtshaus (Winterreise): Leonard Elschenbroich & Katya Apekisheva
Lindenbaum (Winterreise): Richard O’Neill & Katya Apekisheva 

Der Hirt auf dem Felsen (Shepherd on the Rrock) for soprano, clarinet & piano D965 - Llio Evans, Mark Simpson & Katya Apekisheva 12’


Simpson: Night Music for cello and piano 15’

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major K581 35’

 Saturday 12 - 1 pm FREE ENTRY

'Family Fun Event', presented by Nicholas Daniel.

Come and listen to music all around the New Walk Museum, ending with an informal concert in the Victorian Gallery: a great chance to meet our fabulous festival musicians led by Mark Simpson & Nicholas Daniel!

Saturday 7:30pm

Mozart: Kegelstatt Trio for clarinet, viola and piano K498 20’

Mark Simpson: Oboe Quartet 12’: a new work commissioned by Wigmore Hall, Leicester International Music Festival, and Hatfield House Chamber Music Festival with the support of the RVW Trust.


Schubert: String Quintet in C major Op. 163, D956 55’

post-concert reception for Friends & sponsors